“80% of life is just showing up…”

One of my teachers mentioned this Woody Allen quote the other day, and it struck me as one of the more blatant falsehoods I’ve heard. 80% huh? that’s FAR to big a percentage, maybe 10% of life is showing up, I could believe that a little better. If the majority of effort that we put into life involves just showing up, how tough could life be rriiight??  That means only 20% of life involves effort, great!, that’s not so bad, even I could do that!

The sad thing is, I did do that. I went through the motions alot. In the midst of it all I wasnt’ realizing that if we don’t live life to the fullest and take advantage of every opportunity we are given- we are just skating by, and dancing through life without really making a mark or leaving any footprints. There are lessons to be learned from this behavior, some- inevitably learned the hard way. If we just coast through life- what have we gained?- nothing. What have we lost? – everything we could’ve had. I just went to class and warmed the seat. Some may think I’m being a bit tough, but I don’t think that way- I’m the type of person that’s not easily satisfied. Haha, maybe I’m just a fussy pain in the butt, there is always something lacking.

 Somehow it feels like I’ve never given enough. No matter what it feels like there’s always a need to do more, and be more. In some cases I’m certain that I could’ve had greater success if I put more effort into it, but in other circumstances it takes all the running you can do to stay in the same place.

So I guess all I can say is that if all I do for the rest of my life is  “show up”, I certainly won’t be doing enough, and I won’t be a very happy camper. So here’s the plan- to not only show up, but to live it well, and to the fullest.

3 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    intothedeep said,

    Preach it, Sister!

  2. 2

    poproxnsoda24 said,

    i know i know… I’m getting OFF the soapbox for a while, it’s true, I’ve gotten, slightly preachy lately, haha

  3. 3

    intothedeep said,

    Its ok. Gives me a brake. lol


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

